Historic Districts

Tucson has 35 National Register Historic Districts

There are currently 35 National Register Historic Districts in Tucson. During Tucson’s Mexican period, neighborhoods were based on Spanish community planning principles.
Many of the homes have been restored to create a feeling of the old Tucson with the classic charm.
Homeowners may qualify for as much as a 50% property tax reduction in these areas through the State Historic Property Tax Credit. To qualify, you must be the owner-occupant of a contributing property and the home must retain its original

Architectural Styles

The Historic Districts in Tucson are boasting a mixture of architectural styles. Downtown is an oasis of color and history and it’s a mix of styles from mid-century modernist to pueblo. The New York Times called Tucson “An Unsung Architectural Oasis, one of the city’s better-kept secrets is how often you can find significant examples of mid-20th century architecture.” The most common styles found in the Old Pueblo are Spanish Colonial, Sonoran, Mediterranean Revival, Modern Ranch, Pueblo Revival, Modern.

Downtown Tucson Partnership: Description of Architectural Styles

Discover the Historic Districts

Each Historic District in Tucson has its own character. Learn more about the differences and and feature which the live in one of those attractive Districs offers. With the Neighborhood Trends you can keep up-to-date on what’s happening in your neighborhood. Also, search for Homes in those Districts. 


Search for Homes in these Historic Districts

Armoy Park
Bario Viejo
Bario Santa Rosa
Colonia Solana
Dunbar Spring
El Montevideo
El Presidio
El Encanto Estates
Iron Horse
Jefferson Park
Menlo Park
Pie Allen
Poets Square
Old Fort Lowell
Rincon Heights
Sam Hughes
San Clemente
Tucson Country Club
West University


Interactiv Map

Not sure where the Historic Districts are located and where the boundaries are? Click on the interactive map and you’ll find out.